Ward 2 applicants address housing, climate change, transportation

Bret Anne Serbin

The six applicants seeking appointment to serve on the Missoula City Council for Ward 2 bring a diverse slate of experiences and policy proposals to the appointment process.

Teigan Avery, Rebecca Dawson, Sierra Farmer, John T Rowan, Derek Hitt and Charles Shane applied for the position.

The vacancy opened up after Jordan Hess was appointed mayor last week.

City councilors will select interview subjects on Sept. 26, and interviews will take place Sept. 28. The new councilmember will be selected Oct. 3.

John Rowan, a chaplain, is the candidate with the longest history in Missoula. Rowan has been a Missoula resident for 28 years. He has lived in Ward 2 for 13 of those years.

Rowan has served with numerous nonprofits in the city and he ran for city council in 2015.

People are also reading…

“I am deeply committed to advocating for policies and ordinances to address permanently affordable housing, expansion of urban transportation, preparation for long term climate change impacts, and inclusion initiatives for Missoula populations historically and currently marginalized and/or expressing disenfranchisement-based ambivalence,” he wrote in his application.

One of Rowan’s focus areas is the balance between securing

View Source