Flood relief centers open across yellowstone county

Eric Young

Additional flood assistance centers became available across Yellowstone County this week to assist homeowners, renters, and business owners affected by June’s severe flooding.

A Disaster Recovery Center, jointly operated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Montana Disaster and Emergency Services (DES), opened Wednesday at United Way of Yellowstone County and will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. The office will be staffed by representatives from FEMA, the Small Business Administration (SBA) and DES to explain the different disaster assistance programs and help eligible residents apply for aid. Previously opened centers in Carbon and Park counties are still available to flood victims.

Two Mobile Registration Intake Centers also opened this week in Yellowstone County and will have Disaster Survivor Assistance teams onsite helping with applications, inquiries, updates, and referrals. One center is located at the Laurel Fire Department, and the other at the Worden Fire Station. Both will be open for four days a week from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with the Laurel Center open Monday through Thursday and the Worden center open Friday through Tuesday, but closed on Sunday.

People are also reading…


View Source