Few surprises in Legislative primary results for southcentral, Eastern Montana

There were few contested primaries for the Montana Legislature in southcentral and Eastern Montana, but many of those races finalized selections for state House or Senate.

This is where the region’s contested legislative primaries stood a midnight. 

In Billings, returns for the House District 50 Democratic primary showed James Reavis with 439 votes to Erin Tate’s 400. The central Billings district is mostly sandwiched between Central and Broadwater avenues and terminates at to the west 28th Street West and to the east at South 32 Street.

The Democrat who wins HD 50 will face Republican Mallerie Stromswold in November. Stromswold was unopposed in the primary.

Billings legislative districts

Montana Legislature

In Laurel, returns for House District 55 showed Lee Deming with 1,364 votes to Curtis Schomer’s 530. The district includes Laurel and trails southward through the Cottonwood Creek Road area to Pryor Road. Democrats didn’t field a candidate in HD 55. The winner of Tuesday’s election advances to the Legislature.

People are also reading…

View Source