Burrow's 6-TD night leads No. 1 LSU past No. 3 Clemson in CFP final

NEW ORLEANS — Joe Burrow capped his record-shattering season by passing for five touchdowns and running for one to lead No. 1 LSU to a 42-25 victory over No. 3 Clemson in the College Football Playoff championship game on Monday night, Jan. 13, in New Orleans.

Burrow, who won the Heisman Trophy by a record margin, completed 31 of 49 passes for 463 yards and rushed 14 times for 58 yards. He finished the season with NCAA records of 60 touchdown passes and 65 touchdowns accounted for, breaking the marks of 58 and 63, respectively, set by Hawaii’s Colt Brennan in 2006.

LSU completed the first 15-0 season in school history in its first trip to the CFP, which was in its sixth year. The Bayou Bengals won their fourth national championship and first since 2007.

Defending national champion Clemson, which had won two of the last three national titles, finished 14-1 after seeing its 29-game winning streak end.

Biletnikoff Award winner J’Marr Chase caught nine of Burrow’s passes for 221 yards and two touchdowns.

Burrow outdueled Clemson sophomore Trevor Lawrence, the Offensive MVP of last season’s title-game victory over Alabama who lost

View Source